My Pity Parade

19 thoughts on “My Pity Parade”

  1. Courtney, that is a valuable story to share, and you have done a superb job of telling a rather difficult and personal tale. Wishing you all the best as things proceed and your emotions and chemicals return to a normal balance.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Just wanted to say I’m sorry for your loss, and ignore those critical people. You were excited and happy and there is nothing wrong with sharing that, just as there is nothing wrong with sharing your sad news.

    Like

  3. (I want to preface this comment by saying that I know little to nothing about pregnancy or miscarriage but I tend to have big opinions. I’ve never been pregnant, I have never experienced a very close friend’s pregnancy with her, and basically I’ve just touched bellies and felt kicking.)

    I think it’s bullshit to tell people to wait for 12 weeks about a pregnancy. I think you should be able to share joy and sadness with the important people in your life. I think that, like your mom said, miscarriages (and false pregnancies, and still births, and all of the other horrible things that come along with life) happen more often than people think and shielding everyone from them as if they are this rare, horrible affliction is terrible. Granted, it is a terrible thing to have to go through. But you are not alone. Not in real life, and not here.

    So, I also don’t know anything about grieving. But I hope in time that this becomes less painful, and that when March comes it isn’t a hole. I hope that your life is filled with as many children as you can stand in the future. Good luck (and have fun!!!!) in your future family planning adventures. I would LOVE to grow up on your beautiful little ranch.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aww, thank you so much! I like the way you think. At first, I was just feeling so shameful, like I messed up so badly, and by telling people, and now having to amend that, I was such a terrible person. But now that a few days have passed, and everyone I’ve told has been so supportive, I don’t even see the reason not. It’s just life, and I don’t see a reason not to share my life!

      Like

  4. So sorry for your loss. We’ve been down a similar path like this. Take time to enjoy the little things in life. You’d be surprised how they help in getting the emotions back to normal.

    Like

  5. I’m so sorry. I know someone else going through something very similar, and think it probably happens a lot more than people want to talk about. You did a great job telling your story and deserve nothing but support. And maybe more awesome turkey sightings!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you very much! I’ve been getting a lot of stories of others it happens to, so it makes me a whole lot less depressed.
      OMG I love my turkeys!! I hope they will come back to me!

      Like

  6. Oh no I’m so sorry!! What a blow 😦 I’m glad you have your mother and others to share this experience with. It does happen, but that doesn’t necessarily make it any easier. Don’t worry about the critics tho or feeling like you were somehow misleading ppl bc you weren’t and the good ppl in your life will understand and be compassionate.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

